Sydney Metro Opening

19 photos taken on May 26, 2019.

Sydney Metro is a fully automated rapid transit system located in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. Currently consisting of one line opened in May 2019, it runs from Rouse Hill to Chatswood and consists of 13 stations and 36 km of twin tracks, mostly underground. Since July 2019, services take 37 minutes from end to end, at a frequency of every 4 minutes during peak hours and every 10 minutes at all other times. Sydney was the first Australian city to build a fully automated metro system. Plans and projects involving a high speed, rapid transit underground railway in Sydney date at least back to 2008.

Text based on this article. The Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike license applies.